Tuesday, September 8, 2015


when is navratri

Navratri  is a festival celebrates to pray/worship Lord Durga devi,Ganesh.Navratri means nine nights.There are four navratri in the year.In this one is Chaitra Navratri(april-march) it is also known as Vasanta Navratri or Ram Navratri.The other two are Magh Navratri(jan-feb) and Ashada Navratri(june-july).The most important Navratri is Sharadiya Navratri which begins on the first day of the bright half of Ashvin or Ashwayuja (Sep-Oct) as per traditional Hindu calendar.Magh and Ashada Navratri are also called gupt navratri celebrates mainly in north.
when is navratri 
 as per traditional Hindu calendar

How is navratri celebrated
Navratri is celebrated by Hindus with grate devotion for goddess Durga devi celebrates for 9-10 days.Make the stapana of Idol Durga devi in fully decorated lights,garlands,paper decorations Mandapas.People make puja,light jyothi infront of goddess and fasting and keeps Bhajans whole nights and Play Garba,Dandiya.Some people eats these nine days only milk and fruits.Some people eats only one time meal which is sattvic(vegetarian and do not eat onion,garlic) food only.Fasting is not compulsory that depends on such person capability.It is compulsory that to keep thoughts and mind good and peas fully.Men should not make shave and cutting hair these days.Make prasad offer to god Durga and feed to others who don't have food.And worship young girls with traditional manner this is called kanyaka puja.For South-Indians, Navratri is the occasion to invite friends, relatives and neighbours over to look at the Koluvu, which is basically an exhibition of various dolls and figurines.Avoid black color dress.
Bathukamma is celebrated in Telangana state for nine days during Durga Navratri. It starts on the day of Mahalaya Amavasya(11 days before Dasara) and the 9-day festivities will culminate on "Saddula Bathukamma" or "Pedda Bathukamma" festival on Ashwayuja Ashtami, popularly known as Durgashtami which is two days before Dussehra.Bathukamma festival indicates the beginning of Fall.The origins of this custom goes back to Goddess Sati who sacrificed herself to save the honor of Lord Shiva.
Navratri has origin with Shatriya.when Shatriya used to go to wars, their family members, relatives used to worship Amba Ma known as Shakti Puja. Thinking that when our beloved one are at war how can we sleep, we should also contribute on this. So they started this with Shakti Pujan.
So in the root of Navaratri is Worship of Strength, power.

why is navratri celebrated:
Navratri is celebrated for various reasons each have its own significance.
In that one is Killing of Mahishasura:
One of the fiercest daemons, Mahishasura undertook severe penance to obtain a boon that he cannot be killed by a male, underestimating at his own cost the power of the female form, and started creating havoc everywhere. To stop him, Shakti took a very beautiful form of Durga and told him that she would marry him if he defeats her in a battle. It is believed that they battled for 9 days, and on the 10th day, Durga killed Mahishasura. Therefore the 10th day is called Vijayadashami, day of the victory.The other one is Lord Rama pray the goddess Durga for nine days:
The lord Rama make fasting and prays goddess durga 9 days for seeking her blessing for kill Ravana.Rama takes blessing and kills ravana on 10th day which is called Dassara/Dusshera.

why is navratri celebrated for 9 days:
Nine days are divided into 3 days each
Ma Laxmi - Embodiment of Wealth
Ma Sarasvati - Embodiment of Knowledge
Ma Kali - Embodiment of Power, Strength  
During nine days of Navratri nine forms of Durga called Nava Durga are worshipped below order:
  1. Shailaputri: She is the primal energy of the trident Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva, and was born as daughter (putri) to Himalayas (shaila - mountains)
  2. Bhrahmacharini: This form represents penance and austerity leading to blissfulness and moksha
  3. Chandraghanta: Represented as 10-armed mother riding a lion, she adores a bell-shaped (ghanta) moon (chandra), and is slayer of evil forces.
  4. Kushmanda: Literally meaning "little warmth cosmic egg", she is the creator of the universe
  5. Skandamata: She is the mother of Skanda, or Karthikeya, the chief warrior of Gods.
  6. Katyayani: As daughter of sage Katyayan, she is a fierce form of Durga.
  7. Kaalratri: As death of Kaal (time), she showcases the other side of life - death. She is the most terrible and ruthless form of Durga.
  8. Maha Gauri: She represents calmness and grants wisdom to her devotees.
  9. Siddhidatri: The fulfiller of all the wishes and giver of boons.
Check here Make Nivadyam recipes for Goddess Durga

No comments:

Post a Comment

Holiday list

American holiday list

Hindu holiday list

Government holiday list

Dates of Jewish Holidays

Dates of Muslim Holidays

Dates of Hindu Holidays

Christian Holidays

American Holidays